Review: Aunt Jackie’s Curls and Coils Curl La La

Aunt JackiesI was recently sent the entire line of Aunt Jackie’s Curls & Coils to try and review. I hadn’t heard much about the company but after reading the ingredients I was super excited to try them out for myself. While all of the products were great, two really stood out to me: the Knot on My Watch detangler and the Curl La La styler. To hear my first impressions and thoughts on EACH product after using them all, check out my video HERE.

Product Name: Aunt Jackie’s Curls and Coils Curl La La

Price: $9.99 retail

Availability: Local retailers.

Product Description:  Kiss frizzy, hard-to-tame hair good-bye.  The mega-moisture humectants in Curl La La give long-lasting bounce to curls, and shine and definition to spirals and coils.  Define your signature look by adding a little or a lot. Whatever your style, rest assure that it will be well-moisturized and soft to the touch, without caking or flaking.  Use it as often as needed on wet or dry hair.

Use it: For Scrunchy, Tight Curls, apply generously to wet or dry hair and use a diffuser while scrunching style into place, or allowing to air dry. For Elongated, Bouncy Curls or Spirals, apply to wet or dry hair, gently stretching curls with your fingers as you style, using a diffuser, hooded dryer or allowing to air dry.  For Coils, Braid-Outs and Twists, apply a small amount to sections of wet or dry hair, roller/rod set, braid or twist each section.  Sit under a hooded dryer or allow to completely air dry, then release each section, finger styling into place.  Keep hair clean and healthy by shampooing, as needed, with OH SO CLEAN! Moisturizing and Softening Shampoo.

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Propylene Glycol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit, PEG-150 Distearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Glycerin, Parfum (Fragrance), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, PPG-1 Trideceth-6, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Lanolin Oil, Polyquaternium-37, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Acrylamidopropyltrimonium Chloride/Acrylamide Copolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Stearalkonium Chloride, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, d-Limonene, Hexyl cinnamic aldehyde, Linalool, Amyl cinnamic aldehyde, Lilial,Benzyl alcohol, Citronellol, Hydroxycitronellal, Cinnamic alcohol, 5-chloro-2-methyl-4-isothiazolin-3-one, 2-Methyl-4-isothiazolin-3-one, CI 17200 (Red 33), CI 19140 (Yellow 5)

Scent: Sweet but unidentifiable. (Note: In my opinion the scent is stronger from the bottle than it is when applied to your actual hair. Also keep in mind that the scent will linger in your hair until you wash again – a week for me. I don’t mind this and actually prefer it since my hair smelled clean throughout the week which is something I don’t normally experience with other products.)

Consistency: Thick with slight movement.

My Experience: I normally separate my hair into four sections during the cleanse and style process. However, because I noticed some product buildup on my scalp I needed a thorough cleansing so I didn’t separate before washing. I shampooed twice, applied the conditioner and let it sit for 10 minutes then used the detangler. Finally, I used the Curl La La on soaking wet hair and I loved the results (below).

My Results using the entire line

My Results using the entire Auntie Jackie’s line

Not only did it give me great definition the day I took out my twists but throughout the week! I keep my hair in protective styles (flat twist updos or two strand pinned updos), especially during the winter so while I still wanted to continue protective styling, I also wanted to see if the definition of my twist out would last the entire week without retwisting or adding any more product to it and it did.

Pros: Every product is free of parabens, sulfates, mineral oil AND petroleum. The product is amazing for frizz-free definition and hold – one of the product descriptions I was unaware of until after trying it. (I don’t read product descriptions before trying products, I only read ingredients. I like to form an unbiased opinion and Aunt Jackie’s held up to what it claims.) Aunt Jackie’s products are NOT tested on animals.

Cons:  While the Aunt Jackie’s Curls and Coils website is gorgeous, it is unclear where these products can be purchased. This is unfortunate because I’m sure as these products become more popular, people will look to the website for retail information.

Final Thoughts: I would definitely buy this product! The results are comparable to other products I love but Aunt Jackie’s has better ingredients and is cheaper! Today I volunteered and I wanted to separate my twists – ’cause that’s what I do on the weekends – but I didn’t separate the “chunkiness” (results below).

This week’s Aunt Jackie’s results.

This week’s Aunt Jackie’s results.

Have you tried the Curl La La or any other Aunt Jackie’s products? What did you think?

24 responses to “Review: Aunt Jackie’s Curls and Coils Curl La La

  1. I have not. I checked their website and I agree, I couldn’t find where they are sold. They seemed to be geared towards loose hair curlies so I will pass the info on to my sis. Take care.

    • Hmmm. It seems like some companies don’t want girls with loose curls/waves to think the products won’t work for them. Because I DEF don’t have loose curls and it worked really well for me.

  2. Let’s just talk about this hair, and why I can’t stand you for it. All long and defined. Yep when you visit you are putting your hands in this mane of mine. I needs some help!

  3. I meant more for people who had loose vs loced hair. 😉

  4. I tried the curl la la for the first time this week as a styler for a flat twist out. The results were really good. They are defined and shiny. I set the twist on Friday night and released on Sunday Morning. Its now Tuesday and the results are still very good without me adding any additonal product. I have read reviews about it being drying, but I didnt experience that at all. I seale dit in w/ evoo. I found it at Family Dollar (the entire line minus the shampoo) for $5 each. Others have said the found it at their local BSS. You can also find it at curlmart. hth :):)

    • Yes! That definitely helps. I wonder if others are sealing which is why they might be having dryness even though you and I didn’t. Hmmm. Thank you for the insight!

  5. I am just learning how to care my natural hair after a big chop. I found these products and have been using but now confused as to how to do my twist out. do i rub it on each twist as i do it and leave overnight under my scarf (to do a twist out with the curl la la) can i still apply castor oil on my edges? In other words, does this mix well with other products?
    do you apply the knot today as a leave in?

    your hair looks simply lovely

    • Yes. That’s exactly how you twist your hair. And, yes, you can still use your castor oil. I have a video on this on my YouTube channel “LOC Method”. Check it out, if you’re interested.

  6. Pingback: Aunt Jackie’s Curls & Coils |

  7. I have noticed Dollar General has these products and only for $5.00 each has what I saw in the dollar store where I live!!!

  8. Hi Curlsandmo. Aunt Jackie’s Curls and Coils full sizes (12 and16 oz) are sold in most neighborhood beauty supply stores, most retailing between $7.99-$9.99.. Smaller sizes (6 and 9 oz) are sold in Family Dollar and Dollar General Stores for $5 each. Hope this information is helpful.

  9. Ok I’m really new to this natural hair syles . Saying that I’ve tried the twists when my hair was short. I just didn’t like that flat look. So just would go with added hair twist look. ( not sure what it is called but it was long & I wore it up) I kept them in to long & my hair started to lock. It was a damaged mess! So since my hair had grown ( really a lot ) I decided to try a wash & go look.
    Well….. Here is where it gets very pricey! I go to google for natural hair products. I read some reviews and next I go to the store. I brought products that cost a total of & $ 50 to $ 100. Products I brought from Macy to Rite Aid. Results: Great the first two days. Just loved the curly look. I did notice some products made my curl kind of hard. Pretty but hard. So now I’m back on the Internet reading reviews looking for that product where my wash & go natural hair style lasts, is not hard, & mostly does not dry out my hair.
    Question : Does this product work for natural hair without doing twists. I haven’t learned to twist my own hair yet. I’m still trying to get used to this wash & go look :)

  10. Pingback: Friday 5 Luvs: YOUR 5 Faves! |

  11. Thank you
    Well since I sent this email I have learned to twist my own hair thanks to some videos. I’ve decided to stick with another product but I did like this product a little :)

  12. i love these products and i found them online for cheap. you can go to impulsebeautysupply.com and all of the products are about 6.99! such a steal!

  13. I have tried the shampoo and the curl la la. I like it and believe it or not I found it at Dollar General for $5.00

Please Share.

