THEE Goodwill Outlet

I recently had my first thrifting experience, I took a trip to the Goodwill Outlet. I had heard so much about thrifting from my favorite bloggers and vloggers and I wondered if I, too, would like it. So on a Friday afternoon with one of my law school besties in tow we made our way to the Goodwill Outlet located at 47-47 Van Dam Street in Long Island City, NY. I had passed it so many times to and from the city and never noticed it!

I didn’t know what to expect but when I got there I quickly realized how real it (thrifting) gets. Lol. Even though it was relatively empty since it was mid-day on a Friday a few of the customers maneuvered through the aisles with family members, each pushing an overflowing shopping cart. The huge warehouse was comprised of aisles of bins. Inside the bins were a mixture of men, women and children’s clothing. Nothing was sorted by sex or size which can be annoying so patience was a must.

I found 3 great pieces: a black twill skirt, a black J. Crew jacket and a gray Ralph Lauren blazer. Below are pictures of the items I purchased for $3.75. Yes! $3.75. I also bought 3 books because they were for 3 for $1.00.

Thrift Tips:
1. Wear comfortable clothes. Form-fitting garments like leggings and spandex tops (which can be worn under a long/oversized sweater) are best.
2. Try clothes on. The comfortable clothes serve a dual purpose; they also allow you to try clothes on (over them) for an accurate fit. Personally I prefer not to buy something that doesn’t fit but some bloggers and vloggers disagree. Their rationale is if you like the print, you should buy the item but ONLY IF you can rework it later. I’m crafty but I don’t have no interest in sewing or reworking a garment. LOL. So, this one is up to you.
3. Expect to be there a few hours (at the least) if you want to increase your luck of finding something good.
4. Don’t forget to check out the accessories. Remember: everything old is new again. 😉 Bring socks, knee highs or peds to try on shoes.
5. Clean and/or wash everything you buy. I steamed my garments before taking them to the dry cleaner just to be safe.

For more tips, you can check out this video from backsyncfan on YouTube, she’s one of my fav vloggers.

Do you thrift? What’s your most amazing find? Please share below.

4 responses to “THEE Goodwill Outlet

  1. Oh hell yes! I will be hitting up a couple thrift stores next week!

  2. In Georgia they have a lot of store like that 50 cents shirts with tags

Please Share.

