Review: Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool

About two months ago I purchased a Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool and it is amazing. I’ve been using St. Ive’s Apricot Scrub since I was a teenager and while it’s still my go-to for exfoliating, I wanted something a little more powerful and effective since exfoliating with your hands is not the best method. I heard and read a lot about the Clarisonic Mia so I did LOTS of research (which is my routine anytime I’m going to spend over $50 on anything – the Clarisonic Mia is $119 and the Clarisonic Mia 2 is $140). I didn’t see any negative reviews on the product. However, in researching it, I learned about the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool which at first glance just appeared to be a cheaper version (the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool is $39) of the Clarisonic so I was skeptical but here’s what I learned after personally using the product.

First, the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool comes with 3 brush heads: soft, medium and firm (which can be purchased separately from the Sigma site when it’s time to replace them). The soft is “recommended for daily facial cleansing and polishing”. The medium is recommended for “daily, all over, body exfoliation”. Finally, the firm is “recommended for deeper body exfoliation of dry areas, such as the elbows, knees and heels”. I use the soft brush on my face. I also tried the medium brush on my face but it was too abrasive. The medium and firm are best for the body, in my opinion. I haven’t used the tool to exfoliate my body yet since I use exfoliating gloves and mitts in the shower but I’ll update this review if I do. The Clarisonic only comes with one brush attachment but you can purchase additional ones on the Clarisonic website. For me, the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool was a better option because if I didn’t like one brush, I knew I had two others to choose. Also, this difference instantly raises the Mia price from $119, if you want to purchase more brushes. One brush head is $25 and a twin pack is $40.

Second, the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool is battery operated while the Mias have a rechargeable battery. Personally, I prefer to replace batteries rather than worry about recharging my tool before I can use it. In my opinion batteries are also easier for travel. If you forget your cord at home, you can’t use the Mia.

Third, the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool is not waterproof. Some people didn’t like this since it’s easiest to use it in the shower. I use my Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool in the shower with no problem. I simply make sure I don’t submerge it in water. This isn’t an issue for me since I have a mirror in my shower (don’t judge me) which is on the opposite end of my shower head so I never use it directly under water anyway.

Fourth, some people didn’t like that the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool brush head spins instead of vibrating like the Mias. However, since I’ve never used a Clarisonic Mia on my face (I’ve only tested it on my arm at ULTA) I’m not “missing” anything. Some reviewers noticed the difference because they’re Clarisonic users which is understandable but I don’t.

Finally, another complaint was that you can’t apply your cleanser directly to the center of the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool brush like you can with the Mia because the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool is open in the center. I simply apply my cleanser either directly to my face or to the brush bristles instead of the center of the brush. I don’t have an issue with this because this has always been my routine with this tool.

Personally, I love my Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool and I have seen a huge difference in my skin. This was definitely a great purchase and I’m glad I found it before I purchased the Clarisonic. I didn’t see the point of spending three times as much for a Clarisonic.

If you’ve been contemplating buying a Clarisonic and are on a budget or just price conscious, do some research on both. Check out this YT video from All Things Fabulous 101 about the Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool and this one from michele 1218 comparing both.

2 responses to “Review: Sigma Cleansing and Polishing Tool

  1. I wanna try. Where is my to do list?

Please Share.

