Want Longer Hair? Join Me for the Fall Castor Oil Challenge!

Hi, curlies! As we get ready for fall with new fashion and accessory trends let’s also get ready for fall with healthier hair. What am I talking about? The Fall Castor Oil Challenge!!! 🙂 This spring and summer Jenell, founder and Editor-in-Chief of kinkycurlycoilyme.com, hosted Castor Oil Challenges and she’s hosting one again this fall. I’m really happy because I missed the spring and summer Challenges but I saw the growth that some of the women had and I want in! (The Challenge is for people with all hair types, styles and textures.)

The goal of the Challenge is to grow thicker longer healthier hair during the three months. I’ve been consistent with the LOC Method (read about it here) all summer and I have experienced some growth as well as increased overall hair health. Now I want to take it to the next level and sign up for this Challenge.

The Fall Castor Oil Challenge will run from September 1, 2012 until December 1, 2012 and the deadline to register is September 7, 2012. There are very specific registration requirements so please read the registration page thoroughly and follow them all. During the Challenge Jenell sends weekly Castor Oil Challenge Newsletters and there are weekly Check Ins. Take a look at the Spring Week 5 Check In to get an idea of what a “Check In” is.

Four HUNDRED women registered for the summer Challenge which I think is amazing in and of itself. Healthy natural hair is a process and a journey and I’m super excited to start this next chapter of healthy natural hair. Having a support system and a network to encourage me and share it with is huge. Support is what often separates finishers and quitters. I truly appreciate Jenell for hosting this, the weekly Check Ins make it much more likely that I will complete it. And, as if motivation wasn’t enough, at the conclusion of the Challenge there will be prizes!!!

I’ll be using Rite Aid brand castor oil (which can be found in the laxative section…YES, laxative). It’s $6.00 for 6oz. I’m not sure how much I’ll need so I’m going to pick up 2 to tomorrow. You can use any kind of castor oil. Here is the CVS brand and here is some from shop.oilsfromjamaica.com.

I’ll keep you all updated on my progress through instagram and twitter so be sure to follow me on both @curlsandmo. Read about some of the benefits of Castor Oil here and join us. Your hair will thank you.

Have you participated in a Castor Oil Challenge before? Do you use Castor Oil regularly? If so, how? Please share below.

Update (8/20/12): I bought my Castor Oil from amazon.com, 16 ounces for about $10.00.

13 responses to “Want Longer Hair? Join Me for the Fall Castor Oil Challenge!

  1. I remember people suggesting I take castor oil to go into labor. I decided to labor the old fashion way…you know, naturally? lol

    I want to try this challenge but I can barely commit to the things on my plate now. Good luck!

  2. I’m going to TRY!!! I’m not sure about all the checking in and uploading pics and what not, but I will definitely add the castor oil to my regimen and see if i notice any changes. I am going to register and try to commit to staying active in the challenge. I’m excited though.

  3. This sounds amazing! I totally want in 🙂 We can do weekly check-ins with one another. WOOOOHOOOO. I am going to go purchase my bottle today!

  4. Sounds fun! I have never done a hair challange…I might have to join you! =)

  5. I need to do this! Someone is bringing me back Castor Oil back from Jamaica so I should have it it time for the challenge. My thinning edges will thank me.

  6. I think I want to try this…. Ima check it out. Will follow yours too 🙂

  7. Pingback: Friday 5 Luvs: YOUR 5 Faves! |

Please Share.

