Black Girls Workout, Too! {Part 2 of 3} – Staying Motivated

If you read Part 1 of this 3 Part series then you know that I’ve been running for a little over a year now. If you haven’t read it, check it out here . While I do love running, sometimes it’s hard to stay motivated. Check out these tips on everything from apparel to encouragement!

Alternatives to Running                                                                        Since running isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, there are other cheap ways to stay fit, lose weight and/or just feel better about yourself and your overall health. One great way is to do calisthenics. Calisthenics are workouts in which you use your own body weight to train (no equipment necessary). My favorite workouts when I don’t have the time or desire to run are sit ups, crunches, pushups, jumping jacks, burpees and walking lunges (which can also be done in place. (Click each exercise above to see a video on how to perform the exercise correctly.)

Check out these articles for more information on calisthenics:                                                                                                                              What is Calisthenics Training?

Full Body Calisthenics Workouts for Women

Calisthenics Workouts to Get Your Muscles Toned and Cut

Full Body Calisthenics Workout Routine

Workout Gear                                                                                              What you wear is sometimes just as important as what you do. While running (outdoors) is a great workout and free, it’s important to invest in the correct running attire and footwear so that you are both comfortable and safe. Without proper running shoes you can injure yourself. Check out this article, 5 Places to Get Cheap Workout Clothes.

Hair                                                                                                               Some women [of color] complain that their hair suffers during workouts. Nicole Ari Parker, who recently went natural ;-), invented the Save Your Do Gym Wrap. While I haven’t used it, I know that it’s supposed to help keep your hairstyle “fresh”. Right now they’re offering a $5.00 coupon at checkout, too. If you’re interested, check it out. I also like this article, Reader Q&A: How To Maintain Natural Hair While Working Out, on Essence.com from Curly Nikki about how she maintains her natural hair while working out. While she doesn’t work out extensively, I do pretty much the same thing she does. And, in between weekly washes, my hair holds up pretty well. But, remember, if you sweat profusely several times per week you really should wash (or co-wash) your hair at least once per week.

Staying Motivated                                                                                                                         Self-motivation is good but sometimes it’s tough. Check out this article, 34 Ways to Make You a Better Runner, on ways to become a better runner AND Black Girls Run, an awesome group I discovered  and plan on joining. While writing this, I also came across the Livestrong Woman YouTube Channel. This is a great resource for women so be sure to bookmark it so you can reference it in the future.

Top 15 Reasons to Run*

  • It’s a top calorie-burning exercise
  • It revs the metabolism even while you aren’t doing it
  • Expensive equipment isn’t required
  • It’s awesome for your social life
  • Solo runs provide time for self-discovery
  • It lifts your mood
  • It boosts creativity
  • It provides an opportunity to get outside and enjoy nature
  • It increases self esteem
  • It reduces stress
  • It fights depression and anxiety
  • It give you energy
  • It lengthens your lifespan
  • It invigorates your sex life
  • It gives you goals to work toward

*courtesy of theuniverse.com

I hope this information has been helpful (and motivational)! If you workout or run regularly, how do you stay motivated and encouraged? Please share below.

12 responses to “Black Girls Workout, Too! {Part 2 of 3} – Staying Motivated

  1. Hey Monet! I love your blog, and am so happy for and proud of you for journeying into the world of blogging. Question in regards to proper workout attire; I go to the gym several times a week, and feel that I am not wearing the proper sneakers. I am not a “sneaker wearer”. The only time I even think about sneakers is when I am going to the gym. Do you have any comfortable, cute, and sturdy sneaker recommendations?

    • hey!! thanks for the love. it’s def work. lol. the best thing for you to do is go to a sporting goods store and have them measure your foot. i don’t want to recommend something for you because your foot needs and mine might be different. also, what do you do in the gym? run? weight training? this makes a difference. i bought my current pair at lady footlocker and i bought the $10 insoles. i didn’t want to take any chances in getting injured. if you can’t afford the prices (they can be steep) find the perfect pair for you after getting measured and trying some on in the store, write down your size and the name of the shoe and order it online. i can almost guarantee you’ll find deals and specials online that they don’t have in the stores. let me know which ones you get!

  2. I may have to check back in with this post after I deliver LOL. Great tips though!

  3. Glad to find your blog!!! I’m a runner too with the group Black Girls Run! You should join a local group if there is one near you! It’s peaceful to run alone, but the ladies of BGR! are so supportive and awesome!
    I love to run and will be running my first 5k in a little over a week!!
    Keep blogging, I will keep reading!

    • Wow. Thank you so much! I really appreciate the support. I will definitely check out BGR! bc I have heard nothing but good things. In fact, I have a friend coming over from the Netherlands to run in the upcoming race. She’s amazing for that.

  4. I was so excited when I heard about Black Girls Run. I joined but there aren’t any groups near me. Sometimes it sucks living in the Bronx…Manhattan and Brooklyn get all the action 😀

    • Is there any way for you to start one? I would! I’m sure you’re not the only RUNNER(!!!) in your neighborhood. Hit up BGR! today. They’re getting ready for a huge race in ATL so you might not get a quick response but put it out there.

  5. Pingback: Friday 5 Luvs: YOUR 5 Faves! |

Please Share.

