Recap – New York Fashion Week: The Curly Edition

Pictures. Pictures. Pictures.

New York Fashion Week is one of the most highly anticipated fashion extravaganzas in the world. Designers, models and fashion connoisseurs from around the world come here to view the newest fashion trends. I’ve never been interested in NYFW (although fashion does interest me) but this year I decided to hit the town. I hit three events – none “fashion” per se but I had an amazing time celebrating NYFW the curly way.

NYFW is officially kicked off by Fashion’s Night Out. There are tons of events and parties in the city. High end department stores are known for their huge parties and celebrity guests. Kim Kardashian celebrated at Lord & Taylor this year and last. And, Solange (my and every curly’s hair and style icon) was on the 1s and 2s at DVF.

FNO – 9/6 | Natural’s Night Out, Chic N Kinky

On Fashion’s Night Out, I attended Naturals Night Out hosted by Chic N Kinky. I was supposed to attend two other events that night but it didn’t happen. *shrug* While I didn’t make my other events I did enjoy this event because I was able to mix and mingle with other naturals including two college friends and some other naturalistas I’ve met at other events throughout the city. Everyone was definitely fashionable. I was glad I broke out the neon! CharyJay and Jenell were special guests and a few other bloggers and vloggers were there, too.

What I Wore: Black Peplum Top – Target, Neon Green Pencil Skirt – Target, Leopard Print Belt – F21, Snake Print Heels – Zappos, Black Quilted Leather Purse – Burberry, Julep Maven Nails – Gloria, Hair – Chary Jay Inspired Textured Updo.

9/7 | Natural Blogger Meet & Greet, Jenell & CharyJay

That Friday I attended the Natural Bloggers Meet & Greet hosted by Chary Jay of Chary-Jay.com and Jenell of KinkyCurlyCoilyMe.com (both ladies are also on YouTube). The event was a lot of fun, the hostesses kept us entertained with a scavenger hunt, awards for best hair, outfit and accessories and tons of giveaways (of course I won one). I had a great time with my gorgeous fellow BLMGirl Cherrie of cherrieamore.com. Each attendee left with samples from Shea Moisture, Entwine Couture, Original Moxie, Nothing But and Karen’s Body Beautiful. Special Guests: Sunshine of SunshinesNaturalandLovingIt.com, Julian of Bella-Kinks.com, Jonna of NaturallyGlam.com and Sherry Blossom of SherryBlossomBeauty.com.

What I Wore: Hi/Low Red Ruched Top – Target, Black Shiny Leggings – American Apparel, Leopard Print Sandals – Beverly Feldman, Julep Maven Nails – Gloria, Black Quilted Leather Purse – Burberry, Hair – Pinned Back Twist Out

9/12 | Ready-To-Hair, curlBOX at Ouidad NYC

I ended my Fashion Week festivities with the curlBOX invite-only private event at the Ouidad Salon the following Wednesday night. I am so thankful to Myleik for thinking of me! When I got the invitation I knew I had to take my mom who’s transitioning. Ouidad debuted two of their new products: Curl Co-Wash and Mongongo Oil. Each attendee got a one-on-one personal hair consultation with a Ouidad Stylist. There were passed hor d’oeuvres, champagne, wine, desserts and a wonderful vibe and atmosphere. As if all of that wasn’t enough, each guest received a full size bottle of both Ouidad products as their parting gift. Amazing night. Amazing company. And, amazing way to end my first NYFW.

What I Wore: Black Lace Dress – Target, Black Stockings, Navy Blue Suede & Black Patent Leather Ankle Strap Pumps – Me Too, Black Quilted Leather Purse – Burberry, Sally Hansen Nails – Green with Envy Hair, Twisted Updo.

Click here to view **pictures** from all three events! Did you curlies attend any NYFW shows? If so, which ones? Please let me know below.

10 responses to “Recap – New York Fashion Week: The Curly Edition

  1. Cute outfits! And great post. I have got to get to more events myself

  2. You rocked it! And with the VIP access…excussssse me! lol

  3. Love the post…and LOVE the outfits!! So proud of all that you are doing sis!

  4. You look gorgeous! cute outfits 🙂

  5. You are just beautiful, love the natural hairstyles

Please Share.

