Review: Ouidad Curl Co-Wash

To wrap up NYFW I attended Ready-to-Hair hosted by Myleik Teele, founder and CEO of curlBOX, and Ouidad at the Ouidad NYC location. (Click here to check out my NYFW recap.) Needless to say the event was amazing and full of beautiful hair and people. Each attendee snagged a Ouidad Curl Co-Wash and Mongongo Oil. I finally had the opportunity to use the Co Wash…

Product Description: Curl Co-Wash is a rich, low-lathering, sulfate-free cleansing conditioner that leaves hair moisturized, soft & frizz-free while gently clearing hair of buildup. Unlike most cleansing conditioners, our thick, foamy texture is a concentrated blend of conditioners & oils plus a dose of a gentle, naturally-derived coconut cleanser for a truly unique experience that never dries or strips hair.

Black Cumin Seed Oil and Jamaican Black Oil deeply condition strands with nourishing vitamins & minerals, taming and smoothing hair and reducing frizz. Rosemary and Sage Oils gently refresh and balance the scalp while delivering shine to the hair. In just one use, tresses look and feel hydrated, soft, smooth, and full of life. Protects from dryness, breakage, and color fading.

Ingredients:  Aqua (Water/Eau), Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Nigella Sativa Seed Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Fragrance/Parfum, Citric Acid, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone

Price: 16 oz. $30

First Impression: When I applied the Co-Wash to the first section of my hair I underestimated it. Before I had thoroughly worked it in, it didn’t seem moisturizing at all and there were more suds than I thought I expected. It seemed like more of a shampoo than I had anticipated. I automatically knew I would need to follow-up with my fave conditioner. I WAS WRONG.

My Experience: Not only did it completely cleanse my hair and scalp after only one application but I was able to detangle my hair while the product was in it. I definitely didn’t expect that. Plus, I had minimal hair loss while detangling.

My Results: My hair was clean and so was my scalp. I was surprised because I’m currently doing the Castor Oil Challenge and have been experiencing drier scalp lately. This product was able to thoroughly cleanse without leaving my hair dry or feeling stripped. When I was done I didn’t use a leave-in before I applied my styling cream but my hair wasn’t frizzy and my twists stayed intact throughout the week.

Pros: This product left my hair feeling really good; the ingredients are very moisturizing. It also comes with a pump which makes it super easy and convenient to use.

Cons: It doesn’t come in travel size! Lol.

Final Thoughts: This is definitely a staple. Other blogger friends who attended the event also love it. My HS friend, Liz, (who asked me about it when she first learned that I have it) even loves it. We all have very different curl patterns which means Ouidad Curl Co-Wash is 100% curl friendly.

Both images courtesy of Ouidad Blog

Have you tried this product? What did you think? Have you tried other Ouidad products? Which are your favorites?

7 responses to “Review: Ouidad Curl Co-Wash

  1. I absolutely love the co-wash from Ouidad. It leaves my hair moisturized and I don’t have to use a lot of it. I also use the Climate Control gel, the leave in moisturizer, the botanical spray and the hair spray. I also just starting to use the new Mongongo oil. It helps get my hair dry faster (my hair is really thick and takes forever to dry) and leaves my hair less frizzy without that horrible overly shiny look that a lot of oils have.

    • Well, excuse me, Ms. Liz. Sounds like you need to be in a Ouidad ad! Lol. I knew you had the co-wash but I had no idea you had so many other Ouidad products! Thank you for reading and for putting me on to some other gems!

  2. So did you try the sample size, the regular size or a medium size of this product? I just saw MahonganyCurls review it and she said it’s good but she compared it to As I Am Coconut Cowash and said it was better (mainly because of cost)…but I’m sure the pump is a plus!!! 🙂

    • I think since it’s so new only the 8oz is available right now. I saw the Mahogany Curls review, too. I have the As I Am but I haven’t had a chance to try it yet. I also have the Nothing But Co-Wash. I’m aiming to do a comparison review on all 3 in the next month!

  3. Pingback: Ouidad Hair Products Curl

  4. Hmmm I’ve been hearing about this brand. That is super pricey. Ouch. Hopefully I can get a sample of it or something soon

    • It is kind of pricey but it’s an amazing product. I tried another co-wash recently that didn’t come close – I have a third to try and then I’ll write a formal review. You definitely do get what you pay for though.

Please Share.

