Late? How To Get Ready in 15 Minutes!

I don’t know about you, but I wake up late at least three times per week. Hehe. I’m lucky that my commute is only 35 minutes but because of the close proximity I find that I am always pushing the limit as far as when I leave the house. So, I’ve developed a system that ensures that I still arrive at work on time and I want to share it with y’all.

Food
Prepare your meals and snacks the night before, especially if you have special dietary needs. This saves you time in the morning and you’re less likely to forget something. (This also saves you money!)

Makeup
You MUST perfect the “5 Minute Face”. Lots of beauty gurus on YouTube have posted videos on the 5 Minute Makeup Challenge. Basically they show you how to perfect a somewhat “finished” face in 5 minutes or less. This is something you personally have to work on because everyone’s [makeup] needs vary. Some spend more time on eyes while others on skin, it depends.

Hair
Since I’m natural, I usually wear two-strand twists throughout the week. When I wake up all I have to do is pin my hair up into a style. If I’m really pressed for time, I pull it all back into a low ponytail and I’m good to go. If you wear a style that requires daily maintenance, experiment until you find a few quick alternatives.

Accessories
Keep all of your accessories in the same place and if possible separate them either by color or type. Remember: when you come home at night, put your jewelry, scarves, belts, etc. in their designated areas. That way if you’re in a rush you don’t have to look for anything.

Clothes
Pick an outfit the night before. This allows you to iron anything wrinkled and make sure your pantyhose don’t have a run in them. If you can’t pull an outfit the night before make sure you have a few low maintenance pieces that don’t require ironing.

Additional Get Ready Quick Tips
1. Always carry cash. Even if you only have $10, keep it in your wallet in case you can’t pack food.
2. Keep a makeup bag in your purse with a few essentials like mascara and lipstick or tinted moisturizer.
3. Always shower at night, this serves a dual purpose. One, you are clean before bed (*side eye*) and two, if you don’t have time to shower in the morning you’re still “clean”.

Follow these easy steps if you’re late for work and you’ll still get there in record time. Guaranteed or your money back! Do you have any tips on how you get ready in a hurry? Please share below.

12 responses to “Late? How To Get Ready in 15 Minutes!

  1. Nice tips! I have a go to half wig that I wear when I am super pressed for time!

  2. Love this! How about you also add to stop hitting the snooze button. Mo I do that mess for damn near an hour! SMH #gottadobetter

  3. I am that girl! Yesterday, I knew I had a doctor’s appt. I laid in my bed being semi productive until 30 minutes before my appt. I still had to drive and park in their overcrowded parking deck. Picking out my clothes and laying out key grooming items will definitely help with my procrastination!

    -Karen
    http://www.yourstylistkaren.com

  4. LMAO at the “clean before you go to bed side-eye”! I still don’t understand why in 2012 people are still going to bed without washing their behinds! I always pack my lunch the night before as well. Saves a lot of time.

  5. Ummm I just can’t pick my clothes out at night, as I dress based on mood. If I do pick my clothes out the night before I always end up putting on something else. The rest of your tips I totally agree with!

  6. Great post. I bought my first half wig for a party last week……it’s so big I don’t have the NERVE to rock it again……lol

Please Share.

