Coconut Oil: Why You Need Some NOW!

Coconut Oil is one of the best natural ways to nourish your hair and skin. It is easily absorbed and helps replace the protective layer of natural oil and acids that are lost through cleansing the hair and skin by “keeping the good stuff in”. It can help turn dry damaged hair into shiny healthy hair. It can also prevent dry flaky skin when used as a rich concentrated moisturizer.

If you follow me on instagram (@curlsandmo) you may have seen the coconut oil I got for a steal a few weekends ago. Ever since going natural I’ve been hearing how amazing coconut oil is. Last year I bought a 2 oz. bottle and while I did like it, it wasn’t the purest form so I wanted to revisit it. My expanding product collection wouldn’t allow me to but when I found a 24 oz. jar for $5 I couldn’t pass it up and I’m glad I didn’t.

Coconut Oil can be used on your skin, hair, nails and ingested (I’ve heard but don’t plan on trying) but so far I have only used it on my skin and it’s amazing. Once I complete the Castor Oil Challenge, I will also use it to seal my hair and the next time I do a manicure I will definitely rub some into my nails and cuticles. I honestly can see what all of the hype is about; I think I’ve found my staple oil!

Tip: Mine expires in 2014 but to ensure that it remains fresh I never put my hands inside the jar. I always use a spoon to get the product out of the jar and preserve its freshness.

Do you use coconut oil? If so, what for? Is it one of your staples? Please share below.

12 responses to “Coconut Oil: Why You Need Some NOW!

  1. I slacked on the castor oil challenge so I may start it today…i saw how you had a whole inch of growth and i’m trying to get on THAT level!!! So did you use it everyday on your hair or only when you styled it?

    I also use coconut oil. I stopped for a while because I was on my jojoba oil fix….but I occasionally go back to it, especially since it’s much more readily available than jojoba oil is (you usually have to find a specialty store to get that stuff, and its HELLA expensive!).

  2. Its great to cook with i use coconut for everything

  3. I love coconut oil. I use a tiny bit for my hair after I finish flat ironing it. It helps gives my hair shine and is the perfect finishing touch to styling. I honestly think it’s the reason my hair lasts the full 2 weeks. I also use it for my manicures. After I take the polish off, I apply some of the oil and massage, then rinse it off my hands. I tried using it for oil pulling but I haven’t seen much difference so I’ll stick to what I know lol

  4. I love coconut oil, particularly the scent! I discovered it about 4 years ago and have been faithful ever scent. Coconut oil and Apricot Kernel oil are my favs 🙂

    Didn’t know that it’s good for your nails. I will definitely be trying that on my fingers this winter since my nails are abnormally brittle this time of year.

  5. ever *since not ever scent lol

  6. Yes, it’s my new staple oil too! I love it!

Please Share.

