3 Year Curliversary: Why I LOVE My Natural Hair & Giveaway!

This month is my THREE year curliversary. *throws confetti* While I’ll admit that I was VERY lost in the beginning, going natural has been one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life! I know that may sound dramatic but if you are natural, too, I can only hope that your journey has been as fulfilling and rewarding as mine. Here are a few of the top reasons why I LOVE my natural hair.

Versatility – Natural hair allows so much creativity. I don’t experiment as much as I would like to but I’ve tried so many styles that I could have never achieved with my [boring] relaxed hair.

Health – Although my relaxed hair wasn’t unhealthy and neither was I (technically) since going natural I am more conscious of what I consume, product (hair, skin and face) ingredients and drink more water. I don’t know why, but for me, being natural pushes me to go the distance health-wise.

Events – If you know me then you know I looooove natural hair events. LOL. I love networking with other naturals and discussing hair – I can talk about products, styles and tools for hours. Smh.

Community – Along with the events comes a wonderful sense of community. Of course every now and then I encounter a fellow naturalista who isn’t so friendly but that’s life. The love I have received within the natural hair community is overwhelming sometimes. For the most part everyone genuinely cares about helping each other and we all look out for one another.

Opportunities – Being natural has afforded me the opportunity to meet some amazing people and even start Curls and Mo. I have so many plans for the future I can hardly contain myself when I think about them. Currently I am one of two natural Staff writers at Longing4Length.com – check out my natural hair posts on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month! If it wasn’t for my natural hair I would have never been a “Staff Writer”. I think that’s the coolest thing ever and I’m so excited every time I think about it.

Now what would a Curls and Mo 3 year curliversary be without a GIVEAWAY?!? Here are the prizes:

1 set of Amrita Singh bracelets

$15 Forever 21 Gift Card

50+  Hair Product Samples

To Enter: Visit Curls and Mo on facebook and click the “Giveaway” tab at the top right corner. I hope you will all enter!

How long have you been natural? What have been some of your natural accomplishments? Do you love it?

15 responses to “3 Year Curliversary: Why I LOVE My Natural Hair & Giveaway!

  1. Owwwww!! Congratulations!! 🙂

  2. congrats, and your hair looks fabulous by the way.

  3. Happy anniversary lady! 🙂 This month will mark my 8th month being natural and I Love it!!

  4. Congrats sis! I have been natural for 6 months now. I have gained stronger hair with in these 6 months.

  5. Congrats on your Curliversary!! I’ve been natural for a little over two years and I’m just now seeing some progress. I had some really bad “trims” that turned into cuts and took away a lot of my growth. Now that I’ve become more comfortable with styling things are getting better!

  6. Happy Curlyversary! You have awesome hair! 🙂

  7. The first thing I said to myself when I saw your pictures was “Versatile!”
    I love my hair for the same reason. I have been natural for a few years but typically wear my hair in a straightened style or in a weave. Just easier for me to manage. I wore my “real” hair recently and some newer clients that I have were so surprised how much hair I have…I had to LOL! I am all about the easy. Going to enter the giveaway now!

    -Karen
    http://www.yourstylistkaren.com

  8. Pingback: 3 Year Curliversary Winner! |

Please Share.

