Recap: Curly Card Night Hosted by Curls and Mo

CARD NIGHT picLast Saturday I hosted my FIRST event, Curly Card Night, and it was a super huge success (at least that’s what everyone told me – lol). Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves and told me they would be at the next one (which made me laugh since I was just trying to get through that one).

The concept behind the event was to connect everyone: curly ladies, relaxed ladies AND gentlemen, all under one roof to play games, have fun, share laughs and kick off the New Year in a positive way. I really just wanted EVERYONE to come together and enjoy themselves. While I love “natural hair” events, my life is about more than just hair and I was happy to show that last Saturday. It was important for me to include men because it brought a cooler dynamic to the event that others I’ve been to didn’t have. And, the fact that we didn’t discuss hair the entire time made the guys feel comfortable which was one of my goals. (I hope more guys will attend the next one.)

There were several games: Taboo, Spades, UNO, Pokeno (mom insisted but NO ONE played it *chuckle*), Dominoes and many intense rounds of BINGO. There were also raffles! Erma of The Pomade Shop donated a pomade. My blogger friend, Julian, donated one of her handmade Moruka Designs clutches. And, Curls and Mo provided full sizes of LustraSilk Deep Conditioner, Nubian Heritage Hair Mousse, Jane Carter Shampoo and Jane Carter Conditioner. There was also a huge bag of samples for the BINGO winners so each person who won a round, received a hair sample including Karen’s Body Beautiful, Coco Curls, Beautiful Textures, Curls Unleashed, and many others I have been gifted at different events.

I really appreciate Moruka Designs and The Pomade Shop contacting me to donate. It was so unexpected. Thank you to everyone who came out and enjoyed it. I am so humbled by everyone’s support.

Please check out some of the pictures  and I hope to see you at the next one.100_4492

Do you attend [natural hair] events and meetups? What’s your favorite part? What would you like to see more of? Please share below.

14 responses to “Recap: Curly Card Night Hosted by Curls and Mo

  1. This sounds like it was a huge success and a really fun event!

  2. Congratulations on your first event! I am sure it will be the first of many!

    -Karen
    http://www.yourstylistkaren.com

  3. It looks like a super fun event; I love the idea of getting together and playing games and just enjoying other’s company.

  4. Such a cool idea! I love game night!

  5. So glad your first event went well. I feel like games make great ice breakers. Even though I am a sore looser I think this was a great idea for a meetup! You know I would have been in there if I were still in NY.

  6. Congrats on hosting your first event!!! It looked like tons of fun…I so wish I could have been there. And you looked gorgeous….as usual!

  7. Congrats on your first event! It’s nice to see you moving & shaking the world up Mo style!

Please Share.

