Review: Oyin Shampoo Bar

Grand Poo BarProduct Name:  Oyin Grand Poo Bar, Succulent Solid Shampoo

Price:  $7.00 | 2.7-3 oz bar.

Availability: Oyin Handmade Products are available on the Oyin website and at select retailers.

Product Description:  The Grand Poo Bar is a truly succulent option in the area of non-detergent cleansing: it’s made from a glycerine-rich soap base enriched with moisturizing oils and butters like castor, shea, and cocoa. The poo bar is a gentle, low-lather cleanser that leaves hair clean without the stripped, dried-out feeling left by many detergent-based shampoos. Some of my testers even stated that they didn’t need to use conditioner afterward! Simple to use & with a mildly herbal/citrus scent.

Ingredients:  purified water, glycerin, sodium stearate and sodium oleate (mild foaming/cleansing agents derived from vegetable oils), sorbitol, stearic acid, lauric acid, african black soap, cocoa butter, shea butter, cetyl alcohol, coconut oil, lavender, rosemary & citrus oils.

Scent: Citrusy, fresh and light.

Consistency: Hard, bar soap.

My Experience:   I was able to use this bar with very little hassle after two weeks of product buildup. It was very easy to use and a pleasure because I didn’t have to be concerned with yet another bottle or wasting the product if I spilled some accidentally.

This was the piece I used

The piece I used

I hadn’t washed my hair in two weeks (I usually wash every week) so there was product buildup and dry scalp galore. I separated my hair into four sections. Starting with the first section I thoroughly rinsed all of the product buildup out. I then grabbed the entire section as if I was going to put it into a ponytail and rubbed the sliver of the Poo Bar around the perimeter of the section. I then parted the section several times and rubbed the Bar along my scalp across each part. I added a little more water and then used the balls of my fingers and my palms to work it into the hair. I noticed a nice lather and suds. After I massaged it in, I rinsed it and repeated those steps on the same section. Finally I applied Conditioner to the freshly cleansed hair and moved on to the next section.

Grand Poo Bar Applied

Grand Poo Bar Applied

Pros: It’s convenient to use and a little goes a long way. Also, the shelf life is really long. I’ve had mine for years and it worked perfectly despite being old. The Shampoo Bar ALSO made my hands feel really soft. While my hair felt clean it didn’t feel stripped – which is something I’m always concerned about when I try a new cleanser.

Cons:  It’s not sold locally. In order to buy it you must order it online unless you can find it at a natural hair specialty store in your area.

Final Thoughts:  I love this bar and I will definitely repurchase it. It was easy to use and very economical. I don’t know when I’ll be able to purchase a new one because so little is needed to thoroughly cleanse the hair but it’s definitely one of my new faves.

Have you tried any Oyin Handmade products? If so, which is your favorite? Please share below.

6 responses to “Review: Oyin Shampoo Bar

  1. I just ordered Oyins whipped butter, honey hemp conditioner, and honey wash. I’m really excited to try them because I’ve heard great things about them.

  2. I LOVE shampoo bars! They’re a genius invention IMO. I have a tea tree one I use when I have braids and need to wash my scalp

Please Share.

