Recap: Blogging While Brown 2013 & 5 Blogger Tips

BWBThis past Saturday bloggers from all over the country met in New York for the Sixth Annual Blogging While Brown Conference. We were all very different but two things united us: our eagerness and thirst for knowledge.

Blogging While Brown (BWB) was created to give black bloggers a voice and equip us with the tools to get ahead in this industry [as a united front]. BWB allows black bloggers to teach other black bloggers the “tricks of the trade” through networking, education and professional development while allowing us to connect with brands.

When I received my scholarship, I was really excited about attending but I was a bit apprehensive (at first I was going to write nervous…but I wasn’t nervous). At just one year in, I wasn’t sure if I was ready for a blog conference but I knew that if I want to take blogging to the next level – whatever level that may be – I needed to be there. BWB proved to be one of the biggest eye openers for me thus far. I finally realized the magnitude of “our” voice as Gina McCauley, BWB Founder, compared BWB’s meager beginnings to the dinner provided by a sponsor the night before that included shrimp. Her excitement let me know how far we had come.

Me with Jeneba, jenebaspeaks.comThere were so many nuggets of information shared (I’m still reading through my notes) but the following 5 tips really stuck out as what I needed to share with my fellow bloggers.

Traffic. Do more of what works and get rid of what doesn’t. Check your analytics regularly for your top sources of traffic. If facebook is sending you the most traffic and twitter the least, for example, dedicate more of your allotted twitter time to interacting and posting on facebook. {Markus Robinson, Interactive One}

Pinterest. If you’re target audience relates to women or food you must be on Pinterest. It’s not for everyone but it can be a huge traffic driver. (Tip: If you are going to use Pinterest, make sure your picture quality is good.) {Nicole A. Taylor, Hot Grease}

Email. Email is still an amazing tool. Most people are so intrigued by the bells and whistles known as social networks but emailing people is a good way to market yourself and your current projects. Keep a current email list of contacts. {Markus Robinson, Interactive One}

The End. Begin with the end. Understand what you want to achieve and know your end goal(s). This will help you make decisions in your blog journey and filter out the things that are not useful to you. If something doesn’t help you achieve your ultimate end goal, don’t waste time or energy doing it. {Susan Getgood & Elisa Camahort Page, BlogHer}

No Access. Protect your blog. Make sure your password is strong by including upper case letters, lower case letters and numbers. Don’t share your password with anyone. And, don’t give anyone access to your site. {Arsha Jones, BrandBuildSell}

20130622_165148The Closing Keynote Session was a panel organized by Necole Bitchie (NecoleBitchie.com) comprised of herself, Angel Laws (Concreteloop.com), Claire Siobhan Sulmers (The Fashion Bomb) and Karen Civil (karencivil.com) moderated by Alfred Edmond (Black Enterprise).

This is just a small snapshot of all of the invaluable information I walked away with. I highly suggest attending a blog conference, if you can. I was very excited when I learned that Blogging while Brown 2014 will be back in New York in 2014. I’m already thinking about how I can get involved.

Have you attended a blog conference? What was your key takeaway? Please share below.

14 responses to “Recap: Blogging While Brown 2013 & 5 Blogger Tips

  1. Very informative. I’m not a blogger but the info you shared can be applied to almost any business. Thanks for the info!

  2. Excellent recap. Very informative. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Very thorough summary.

  4. Thank you for sharing these tips. I attended BlogHer last year in NYC and I am hoping to attend Blogalicious this year since it is in Atlanta.

    I would really love to attend BWB. I am going to put it on my calendar for next year. There really are differences in opportunities when it comes to race if you ask me and I think these types of conferences are needed.

    • Hey, Mimi! Wow! I haven’t seen any differences. I guess because I’m fairly new. BlogHer and Blogalicious are the bomb. They’re both on my list for next year.

  5. Nicole is right. Thanks for the recap. I didn’t realize you had a scholarship for the conference. Thats great! My key takeaway is I need to a conference ASAP.

  6. Thanks so much for the recap and tips! Attending a blogger conference is definitely on my to-do list. =)

  7. Great post dear, my Blogging While Brown post was better *sticks out tongue, then runs! LMAO! You know I love you!

  8. Looks like a really informative experience!

Please Share.

