Nene’s Secret: Review and Giveaway

www.curlsandmo.com nene4 A few months ago I was contacted to review a new product line – Nene’s Secret. I was hesitant obviously because they were new but I agreed. I was sent a beautifully packaged box of all of their items which I was really excited to try. I wasn’t sure where to begin but I decided to try the P.P.P. ~ Perfect Pretty Pudding and the L.I.C. ~ Leave In Conditioner. For this review I’ll be discussing P.P.P. ~ Perfect Pretty Pudding but I’ll add some info about how I used the L.I.C. ~ Leave In Conditioner and what I thought.

Product Name: Nene’s Secret P.P.P. ~ Perfect Pretty Pudding

www.curlsandmo.com nene3Price:  $8.99 8 oz.

Availability: Online at www.nenessecret.com and select beauty supply stores.

Product Description:  My perfect, pretty styling aid for all your natural styling needs. So perfect and pretty that it has my multi-textured family calling me the “Queen of Curls & Coils”. Enriched with natural ingredients in My Secret Recipe ™, this product is excellent on all curly, coily, and wavy hair textures.

Benefits: My Secret Recipe ™ has conditioning ingredients that add curl length and makes them last longer. Super moisturization and the end to curl shrinkage. Eliminates frizz and provides curl control. Strengthens curls and adds super shine.

Ingredients:  Water(Aqua), My Secret Recipe {(Adansonia Digitata) Baobob Extract, (Citrullus Lanatus) Kalahari Melon Seed Extract, (Theobroma Cacao) Cocoa Extract, (Butyrospermum Parkii) Shea Butter Extract, (Macadamia Ternifolia) Macadamia Nut Extract}, Mineral Oil, Glycerin, Carbomer, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, DMDM Hydantoin, (Persea Gratissma) Avocado Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Oleth-5, Triethanolamine, Fragrance (Parfum), F.D &C Red #33

Scent: Sweet

Consistency: The Perfect Pretty Pudding was very creamy and thick.

My Experience:   After co-washing my hair I applied the Nene’s Secret Leave In Conditioner first on freshly co-washed hair. I then twisted all four sections of hair into about 5 twists each using the Perfect Pretty Pudding. I didn’t do the LOC Method and seal my ends with oil like I usually do because I wanted to get the full effect of the products alone. I left the twists in for one day and then I took them down. I usually leave my twists in for a week but I had to attend my God Son’s birthday party. When I took my twists down my hair was soft and light but still had movement. There was lots of definition.

www.curlsandmo.com nene2Pros: I loved the results when I styled my hair! I always pin down my roots after I twist my hair so that they don’t get puffy after it dries. One thing I noticed right away was that when my hair was drying it stayed laid, honey! My roots weren’t fighting with the bobby pins. I wore a twist out for a day and then I put my hair in a top bun. I got SO many compliments when I posted this picture (below) on Instagram. I found that my roots (again) weren’t puffy and it made it really easy to put it in a bun without slicking it down or too much manipulation and my definition was still really good.

IMG_20130731_085350Cons:  None of the products have the ingredients listed on the box or bottle. To find the ingredients list you have to go on the website. When I initially tried I was on my phone and the site wasn’t mobile-friendly (to me). I had to go on my computer. If I was in a store and I wanted to check quickly from my phone, I couldn’t. That might turn some consumers off. I know it would if it was me. Some people might not like that it contains Mineral Oil – I’m okay with this but some naturals are selective about their ingredients.

Final Thoughts:  I love this pudding and I can’t wait to use it again. I would assume the leave-in aided in keeping my hair soft so I’ll definitely be using that again with the pudding. Another item I’m excited to try is the B.B.B. ~ Best Beauty Butter on my body (it can be used on hair, scalp and skin). I really like the ingredients in the butter. For more information check out all of the products on the site.

IMG_20130612_125407GIVEAWAY! Nene’s Secret is nice enough to sponsor TWO giveaways. I teamed up with Crystal of KinkyHairAffair to giveaway TWO SETS of Nene’s Secret. Check out the Curls and Mo facebook page for all of the rules. For a SECOND chance to win, check out the KinkyHairAffair facebook page.

9 responses to “Nene’s Secret: Review and Giveaway

  1. Great results!! I’ve never heard of this line. Maybe I should enter this here giveaway 😉 OH! and your bun is crazy big… how you do dat son? LOL

  2. DOH! Turns out they reached out to me too! Ha!

  3. hi! It’s Cecilia from the SPWG event from a few weeks ago. Looked through some of your entries – love the makeup reviews! Going to try that leopard mani look! oOo!!

  4. My daughter and I decided to go natural! But we haven’t found any hair products that works for our hair! We have really thick, course hair! I would love to try your products…how do I order them, are they available in stores? If so which ones!?! Thanks

Please Share.

